Skip to main content

Combustion Collective & Rachel Lauren James present

The Floorshow

A new play with music and dance


Click here to read the 2019 script, or here to see production photos.

For production inquiries or more information, please contact us directly.

It’s 1951, and a group of tap dancers perform their popular floorshow routine to packed houses at The Gilded Palace nightclub in New York City. There’s excitement in the air as powerful Hollywood producers scout the scene, hoping to discover the next-big-thing.

But when the pursuit of motion picture stardom takes an unfortunate turn, the bonds that tie this tight-knit group together are tested as each girl shows her true colors.

The Floorshow explores the way we react to events in our own lives and the lives of those closest to us. The play asks us to examine our own reactions to adversity as a group of women grapple with the tenuous nature of female friendship.

The Floorshow was originally produced at Theatre 71 in September of 2019. The production team included:

director and choreographer AVITAL ASULEEN
musical arrangements and original music DENIZ CORDELL

associate producer ROBERTO DI DONATO
production assistant BRIDGE COFFMAN

production stage manager EOGHAN HARTLEY
associate choreographer & dance captain COLLEEN ROBERTS*
assistant director/choreographer KATHERINE WINTER

scenic designer RYAN GOFF
costume designer JOSEPH SHROPE
lighting designer GIOVANNI VILLARI

The cast was as follows:

Valentina – KACIE BURNS*






* Equity Member appearing with permission of Actor’s Equity Association without benefit of an Equity contract in this Off-Off-Broadway production

The Floorshow Poster

“THE FLOORSHOW nests an emotionally rich female-sisterhood narrative within a framework of creative competition and sexism.” – BroadwayWorld

Sign up to receive news and updates about The Floorshow.

Thank you to our supporters!

Aaron and Cynthia Berg, Aaron Wolf, Aleksandra Nagorny, Alyse Dunn, Alyssa Cyran, Amy Newland, Andrew Chartier, Andrew Stetkevich, Ann Miller, Anne Dalin, Anne-Allegra Bennett, Aric and Beth Morgan, Asako Nagashima, Ashlie Burgun, Barbara Johnson, Barbara Kanfee, Benjamin Rigney, Beth Ann Baker, Brian and Laura Campbell, Brian C Veith, Brian Losoya, Cara Reichel, Charlie Simon, Christopher Noffke, Claire Lilley, David and Diana Naley, Deborah Harrison, Deniz Cordell, Dwayne Bailey, Elissa Berg, Elizabeth Welch, Eric J. Mandela, Erin Ruth Schleiff, Evan Kaplan, Fotios Tzellos, Frederick Terry, Gerard Bianco, Geri Stief, Janet Snyder, Jessica Turk, Joe Martin, John Peter Cruz, Joshua Rosenthal, Judith Fuhrman, Katie Palmer, Kelly Koepp, Kevin Estevez, Kristen Boidy, Kyra Robinov, Laura Galt Snavely, Laura Lund, Lauren Kaplan, Liana Asuleen, Marie Le Pichon, Mark Russell, Melinda Atwood, Melissa Hinz, Michael Anghelone, Michael Apfel, Michael Brahce, Michelle Pilloff, Nathan Paoletta, Paige Brocious, Patricke and Kara Hume, Peter Casanave, Piper Jacocks, Rachel Trenchard, Ric Berg, Robin Pearsall, Rodney Berg, Roland Fiorelli, Rose Burns, Ruby and Judy Asuleen, Sam Nosratian, Samantha Sagui, Stacy Klozow, Stanley Cherian, Talia Berg, Thomas Conley, Timothy Abbott, Will Larche, Yolanda Gonzalez, Yuka Kameda